Italian Peninsula

The Italian Peninsula, Apennine Peninsula or Mainland Italy, also Italy (Italian: Penisola italiana or Penisola appenninica) is one of the three large peninsulas of Southern Europe (the other two being the Iberian Peninsula and Balkan Peninsula), spanning 1,000┬ákm from the Po Valley in the north to the central Mediterranean Sea in the south. The peninsula’s shape gives it the nickname Lo Stivale (The Boot).