Liaoning is a province of the People’s Republic of China, located in the northeast of the country. Its one-character abbreviation is “辽” (liáo), a name taken from the Liao River that flows through the province. The second character of the name, “宁” (níng) means “peace”. The modern province was established in 1907 as Fengtian province and the name was changed to Liaoning in 1929.

Leave a Reply