Provinces of Spain

Blank Spain Map Provinces 2017011813 587f744b80db2

Spain and its autonomous communities are divided into fifty provinces. These closely follow the pattern of the territorial division of the country carried out in 1833. The only major change of provincial borders since that time has been the sub-division of the Canary Islands into two provinces rather than one. Historically, the provinces served mainly as transmission belts for policies enacted in Madrid, as Spain was a highly centralised state for most of its history.

Leave a Reply