Traditional East Asian lunisolar calendars divide a year into 24 solar terms (節氣). Qīngmíng or Chīngmíng or Seimei is the 5th solar term. It begins when the Sun reaches the celestial longitude of 15° and ends when it reaches the longitude of 30°. It more often refers in particular to the day when the Sun is exactly at the celestial longitude of 15°. In the Gregorian calendar, it usually begins around 4 April (5 April East Asia time) and ends around 20 April.

Leave a Reply