Canton Ticino or Ticino is the southernmost canton of Switzerland. Ticino borders the Canton of Uri to the north, Valais to the west, Graubünden to the northeast, Italy’s regions of Piedmont and Lombardy to the south and it surrounds the small Italian exclave of Campione d’Italia. Named after the Ticino river, it is the one canton where Italian is the only official language and represents the bulk of the Italian-speaking area of Switzerland along with the Southern sections of Graubünden.

Leave a Reply