Contiguous United States

National atlas blank state outlines 2017050521 590cf36d08952

The contiguous United States are the 48 adjoining U.S. states on the continent of North America that are south of Canada and north of Mexico, plus the District of Columbia. The term excludes the states of Alaska and Hawaii, and all off-shore U.S. territories and possessions, such as Puerto Rico. Together, the 48 contiguous states and D.C. occupy a combined area of 3,119,884.69 square miles, which is 1.58% of the total surface area of the Earth.

Leave a Reply